While we've sprinkled these state park regulations in, here they are in one digestible chunk.
Fines for most violations are $110. Not getting a parking pass will set you back $60, and pets not in your control on a leash is a whopping $110, as is making too much noise (see below) in both the day use and Bivy areas. So don't say we didn't warn you...Want the full text from Oregon State Parks and Rec? Here you go.
You can park in designated areas only. $5 day use permits are required year-round. Your camping receipt is accepted as a daily permit for the days you are registered.
Hours and quiet time:
While the park is open from dusk until dawn, quiet hours in the campground are between 10:00 PM and 7:00 AM. Check in time is 4:00 PM and check-out time is 1:00 PM. General courtesy is always appreciated.
The official position of the State of Oregon puts it this way---“Activities or conduct which constitutes a public nuisance or hazard”.
It goes on to say further clarify this way: “prohibits using or operating any noise producing machine, vehicle, device or instrument in a manner that disturbs or may disturb other park visitors”.
Animal Leash Law:
Due to the uniqueness and fragile aspect of the park, park rangers enforce the animal leash law and strongly encourage all park users to stay on trails.
Pets have to be on a leash no longer than six feet at all times and attended when tied to any trees, fences, rocks or any other object. And yes, their owners are required to clean up after them.
Doggie poop bags and a garbage can are found right before the bridge. Snag and toss your stashes—plastic bags actually do not decompose. And sorry, there are no "poop patrols" in the park.
State laws prohibit smoking in all of Oregon State parks except in your campsite or vehicle. This area is a tinder box with dry grasses and afternoon high winds. Please don't take this one lightly.
While marijuana is legal since July 1, 2015 in Oregon, it's consumption in public places is restricted. The park is a public place and therefore off limits to using the legal weed where others can see you.
What’s Legal Oregon defines all the nuances for you.
At the moment while the state prepares its stance for the next legislative session, flying remote controlled aircraft is allowed at Smith Rock State Park except during sensitive nesting periods (January through july) as well as limitations specified below.
And while the views from above are incredible, the sheer number of people with drones these days takes away from the park's serenity for all, including the wildlife. And the neighbors don't appreciate them straying over adjacent private property, so please respect the park and the surrounding community.
From Oregon State Parks and Recreation:
While there is no blanket rule specific to excluding drones at Oregon State Parks, drone operators must follow state and federal laws. Here at Smith Rock, park staff will continue to restrict drone activities during sensitive nesting periods (January through July). And at times, park staff may limit operators from taking off or landing drones in the park to protect natural, cultural, scenic or recreational resources, or to resolve a specific visitor conflict. Contact the park for information on areas of concern. (541)548-7501.
Horseback riding, while allowed on most trails in the park, is not permitted on the Summit Trail. The trail crosses private land with a conservation easement that prohibits this activity. The trail is also closed to horseback riding to protect switchbacks from further damage.
Additional trails restricted to riding are the misery ridge, ROPE-DE-DOPE, and Mesa Verde trails, and before the horse ford sections of The River and Wolf Tree trails.
As of April 3, 2017, there are some new temporary rules in effect as the park finalizes a new Master Plan this year.
HERE'S A QUICK SYNOPSIS:
Temporary moratorium on new lines as of 2-27-16
Tensioned lines must be attended.
Lines must be de-tensioned or otherwise made unusable for the general public when not attended.
No lines left up overnight. After 24 hours lines will be considered abandoned equipment.
Exceptions to the one day rule during nesting season January 1- June 30 will be considered on a case-by-case basis.
Highlines may be left up for 3 nights maximum outside of the raptor nesting season July 31- December 31
No slacklines in picnic or camping areas.
No lines over designated trails or the river.
Trees must be properly padded. (see national park standards)
BE AWARE OF SEASONAL NESTING CLOSURES.
Oh, and please observe the special dog leash rules.
Hide it or lose it.
Division 10 OAR (Oregon Administrative Rule) states that “A person may not leave personal property or possessions overnight in a day use area without written permission from the park manager or designated park staff”
Note: The park will not be granting written permission at this time.
There is a park-specific policy exception: “Equipment used for technical rock climbing, slack/high lining and related activities may be left in day use areas in a discreet manor (not set up but cached). If for any reason park staff needs the equipment removed either park staff or official park volunteers may remove the gear or require the owners of the gear to remove it immediately.